Here’s how my last few months went:
October – Got international job offer and decided to get married
November – Planned move and wedding
December – Got married
January – Moved out of my flat, went to Vegas (husband free), stayed with hubby on return, and then left hubby to move to Qatar

Needless to say, we haven’t really had time to be ‘married’.

We’ve never lived together, and I don’t count those few days bunking in the boys’ bachelor pad. We got married, and I left. Don’t think I’m cruel, nor feel sorry for husband, I chose to go to Vegas, and hubby will be shortly following me to Qatar.

In the meantime, we have Skype (phone calls only). The internet connection in the hotel is unreliable, the time zones can make things tricky, and we spend a lot of the time discussing what life will be like when we’re together. Living together.

It’s not easy, describing apartments, locations, and what it’s really like. Over Skype you cannot smell the spices in the market, see the colour of the ocean, and feel the sun on your face.

Nor can we see each other (lack of technology at one end!).

But we have Skype, and I’m glad we at least have that.

