The weekend seems to roll around quickly. Working on a Sunday is a drag, but by the time Thursday arrives it feels like it has been a short week, woo!

Thursday before last Hubby and I had loose plans to do things, but we ended up both falling asleep separate couches due to exhaustion from the early work mornings. Yes, you should be jealous of our rock n roll lifestyle.

This weekend we had tickets. Thursday I ventured out with a colleague to the Museum of Islamic Art to watch the premier screening of one of the UK’s top 100 films of all time, The Red Shoes. Of course, being the film novice I am, I had never heard of it, which I actually felt OK about when I realised it was older than my parents. The film was opened by various dignitaries and when I heard “mayor of London” I attempted to hunt out Boris’s hair. I’d missed “The Lord Mayor” part, and was left feeling disappointed that we didn’t get to hear Boris rambling. Anyhoo, the film was part of Qatar UK 2013, with events happening in both countries – keep an eye out if you’re in the UK too.

Friday night we ventured out again, this time to see the Doha Players perform The Complete Works of Shakespeare (Abridged). That meant 37 plays in 97 minutes, performed by 3 amateur actors. They promised a laugh a minute, and in the first half it delivered, with cultural sensitivities observed and commented on (“Dude, we can’t say that, we’re in Doha!”), plays performed in dance, rap, and all of Shakespeare’s comedies ‘rewritten’ into one very short version. Intermission provided FREE water and chocolate, yes, really, FREE. The second half was all Hamlet, with audience participation (I avoided eye contact), with the finale of shorter and yet shorter interpretations of the play. 

What was interesting in both of these is audience behaviour. I had been warned about cellphone use during movies, and people talking throughout, but at both the film and stage show people walked out. Walked. Out. Stood up from the middle of their row, got others to stand up to let them out, blocked views, and walked out.

I thought it odd, as neither was bad. But perhaps that’s it, as Westerners, or Kiwis, or Brits, we just sit through things, unless they are so bad we have to leave. Or maybe it’s just me making sure I’m not double booked. Or perhaps it’s the fact I’ve spent the money on it, and will therefore stick with it!

Have you ever walked out of a show or movie? Did you feel bad for doing so?