The Doha Film Institute (DFI) hosted the first French cinema week at Katara during 7-13 March. I’m not one who tends to go to the movies, I don’t enjoy the cinema experience, and never remember films I’ve seen or who the actors even are. I’m well known for saying “I haven’t seen that” followed 10 minutes later by “Oh, yeah, this and that happens…”.

There were two films that struck interest in me: Amour – which I recognised from the actress Emmanuelle Riva having been nominated for best actress at the Oscars, and The Intouchables which a friend positively reviewed.

Amour was emotional, and we were warned to have tissues at the ready. It brought me almost to the peak of sadness in some scenes, but moved on to another scene right in time before any tears had a chance to form. My colleague and I left feeling a little sad and commented about “something to look forward to”, growing old and such.

I dragged Hubby along to The Intouchables, and he was concerned it was going to be another depressing movie and he wasn’t that interested. It turned out to be a heart warming and funny tale of two men, we laughed a lot and yet were touched – I highly recommend seeing it if you have the opportunity.

I’m still not a movie buff and won’t head to the cinema for any old mainstream movie, but would much rather snuggle on the couch at home. However, I will be keeping an eye out for future DFI events as the ones I have attended so far have been great, and reasonably priced too!

